The New Fire Station 33 opened on November 18, 2008. It is built on the lot behind the old station. Pictures and details will be forthcoming soon.
Station #33 is a two bay Station, that was built in 1951, to serving South Central Oak Cliff. Surrounded by a City park, the station is frequently visited by neighbors and their children, who want to converse or see the engine.
When the station was built, the landscaping was sparse. To improve "the natural beauty," Captain W. A. Bowman planted several trees on the lot. The trees have matured, providing beauty and shade.
The station's most dramatic fire occurred December 25, 1981, when the speakers opened at 1:23 a.m., and changed "the visions of sugar plums" into the harsh reality and destructive nature of fire. Firefighters were dispatched to 101 Wynnewood Village, Box 5632, commonly referred to as the "Wynnewood Fire." Engine 33, one of the first arriving companies, pulled up to discover a portion of the shopping center fully involved. The fire, one of the most rapidly escalating five alarm incidents in Dallas history, furiously burned through most of the night. Firefighters eventually controlled the blaze with a method known as trench ventilation. The cause of the fire was listed as "accidental but under investigation" with a loss of $1,400,000.