The old station is pictured above. We will have pictures of the new Station 38 soon. Email proofs to the webmaster.
This 8,671 square foot station was built in 1955, and serves South Oak Cliff. The most memorable fire in the station's history was December 25, 1981, at 1;23 a.m., a five alarm incident at Wynnewood Village shopping center. Station #38 answered the fire on the second alarm. Between fire and medical calls, the firefighters have spent their time painting the station, building new food lockers for all three shifts, and finishing a volleyball court with a true sand pit and trim. Station #38 firefighters play competitive volley ball and are always searching for a new team to challenge.
A colorful and unique addition to the station is the stained glass DFD logo built by B. C. Coleman, and Lt. Lyndon E. Patrick. The logo was inserted into the glass portion of the apparatus room door leading from the living room.
One of #38's "firsts," is making the first ambulance run when the City began providing Emergency Medical Service in 1972. The Dallas Fire Department began this task at midnight, November 1, 1972. At 1:02 a.m., MICU 738 was dispatched to a "sick call" at 2227 Moffatt Avenue. Paramedics Dan W. Tenny and C. B. Davis transported the woman to Parkland Memorial Hospital.